Leviathan Wakes

Leviathan WakesAuthor: James S.A. Corey
Series: The Expanse #1
Rating: 5 / 5 stars
Verdict: Buy

But he’d taken their ancient engine of destruction and turned the key anyway, because when you got right down to it, humans were still just curious monkeys.  They still had to poke everything they found with a stick to see what it did.

What is it my main man Neily says?  The final words at the end of the world will be, “I wonder what will happen if we try it this way?”  But I digress.

Hot diggey dog.  After spending the vast, vast majority of my time in the young adult genre, I’d forgotten that space opera novels could, indeed, be enjoyable.  Leviathan Wakes is addictive, especially if you’ve started the television show (if you haven’t you should.  It’s on Amazon Prime.  Get on it!).  I’d had this book on my TBR list forever, but since I’ve been stuck in young adult, it got buried away with the rest of the “big boy” literature.  Fast forward to the end of binge watching season one of The Expanse and realizing the series is based on books, and you know I’m going to read the books.  Lo and behold, they are one in the same.

I wish I hadn’t waited so long to read this novel.  I feel like a bit of a bandwagon jumper, but better late than never (and yes, the books are better than the tv show).  I love the characters.  I love that there’s just a hint of romance but the plot doesn’t choke on it and die.  I love how vastly different some of the characters are, and yet how they mesh together almost effortlessly.  And I love the writing.  Scientific and technical at times, stunningly eloquent in others.  I inhaled this novel as fast as someone can for a novel of its girth and with what little free time I had.

The setting is great as well.  And while the plot features my least favorite topic in science fiction writing, I have to admit that the authors managed it well to where it actually felt plausible.

I will buy this book.  I will read it again.  I hope the series can continue the momentum without shooting itself in the foot as many series do.  I know I still have some catching up to do since there are six books already, but I’ve got them all coming from the library and I have high hopes.