Trail Check In

Holy hand grenades, it’s teetering on close to a month since my last check in.  Boy, have I gotten lazy.  You guys need to nag me more!  I need more motivation.  Not to finish the trail – I have actually had a surprisingly high amount of motivation there – but to update about it to make sure I haven’t fallen off pace.  Or pushed myself too hard that my legs will fall off.

Progress on the Trail:
Thursday, 16 March: 6.82 miles
Friday, 17 March: 3.71 miles
Saturday, 18 March: 5.45 miles
Sunday, 19 March: 5.40 miles
Monday, 20 March: 4.24 miles
Tuesday, 21 March: 11.23 miles
Wednesday, 22 March: 9.07 miles
Thursday, 23 March: 3.49 miles
Friday, 24 March: 3.63 miles
Saturday, 25 March: 8.86 miles
Sunday, 26 March: 11.32 miles
Monday, 27 March: 6.50 miles
Tuesday, 28 March: 9.60 miles
Wednesday, 29 March: 5.38 miles
Thursday, 30 March: 6.35 miles
Friday, 31 March: 8.55 miles
Saturday, 1 April: 6.81 miles
Sunday, 2 April: 9.05 miles
Monday, 3 April: 6.27 miles
Tuesday, 4 April: 6.63 miles
Wednesday, 5 April: 3.20 miles

Week Ten (1/2) – Thirteen (1/2) Total: 141.56 miles
Distance to Go:  1,617.99 miles (2,190 miles total)
First Quarter Total: 540.05
Projected Out: 2,160.20 (short)

Looks like I need to step it up just a little bit.  Which is funny, because my knees are screaming today.  But I am motivated.  I recently got to hike.  As in, a legit hike.  On mountains and everything!  And I have to say, it only excited me more about my AT thru hike down the road.  It is the perfect hobby for people with social anxiety.  It’s so quiet and peaceful.  Except when you need to make noise to keep from getting eaten by bears.  But other than that, so peaceful.

Cooking Light Annual Challenge Rundown:

Two-Cheese Mac and Cheese: I had to adjust this one a bunch based on what shredded cheese I had in the fridge, but it was awesome.  Definitely a repeater in the house.  The hubby – let’s just call him Holden – even enjoyed it.  It was almost better reheated than it was freshly baked.

White Bean and Spinach Tacos: These were really good and vegetarian.  The more audiobooks we listen to about food, climate change, and the current status of the meat industry, the more we lean towards vegetarian.  So, forewarned, be prepared for a lot more vegetarian recipes and a lot less meat.

Roasted Red Pepper Spread Sandwiches:  These were so quick to make and tasted pretty darn good to boot.  A great last minute quick dinner to make and even though the roasted red bell peppers were a little pricey, it still was pretty cheap.

Artichoke and Pea Saute:  Holden isn’t a huge fan of artichoke, but it’s become my super food and I really enjoyed this recipe.  I love peas too, so bonus!

Roasted Broccoli and Red Bell Pepper:  A great side that reheated okay for lunch the next day.  Yeah veggies.

Cream of Leek Soup: SO TASTY.  I wouldn’t have believed it before I made it, but leek is another super food I’m trying to eat more of.  This soup was excellent.  I highly recommend.

Pasta Primavera: I used wayyyy too much pasta (I really need to get a kitchen scale), but it still turned out okay.  Yummy green veggies.  And it made 8 servings while Holden wasn’t home, so it lasted forever.