The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy

the-hitchhikers-guide-to-the-galaxyAuthor: Douglas Adams
Series: Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy
Rating: 10 / 5 stars
Verdict: Buy Multiple Copies

How many roads must a man walk down?

I cannot believe I have not written a review for this novel yet.  Has it really been that long since I read it last?  Well, refill your coffee mug and buckle up because this review is a journey in itself.

Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy – along with Timeline and Peter Pan – is one of my all time favorites.  As in, top pick for stuck on a deserted island.  It was perhaps my first foray into the science fiction genre way back when I was a wee lass.  It is a novel I actually paid MSRP to buy.  In a book store.  New.  That’s how much I love it.

If I listed all my favorite quotes, this review would end up almost as long as the book itself.  It is full of humor and social commentary and dry wit (Oh Marvin).  It is nonsensical yet spot on brilliant at the same time.  It is everything a book should be for a nerdy little space obsessed engineer such as myself.

Since I am not going to list all my favorite quotes, I will include the following that caught my eye in this particular read through due to current events.  Do they remind you of anyone?

It was for the sake of this day that [Zaphod Beeblebrox] had first decided to run for the presidency, a decision that had sent shock waves of astonishment throughout the Imperial Galaxy.  Zaphod Beeblebrox?  President?  Not the Zaphod Beeblebrox?  Not the President?  Many had seen it as clinching proof that the whole of known creation had finally gone bananas.

If there’s anything more important than my ego around, I want it caught and shot now,” Zaphod glared at her again, then laughed.

Was there a reason behind it?  There would be no point in asking Zaphod, he never appeared to have a reason for anything he did at all: he had turned unfathomability into an art form.

“What are you after?”

“Well,” said Zaphod airily, “it’s partly the curiosity, partly a sense of adventure, but mostly I think it’s the fame and the money…”

“I mean, don’t you have any inkling of the reasons for all this?” asked Ford.

“No,” [Zaphod] said at last, “I don’t seem to be letting myself into any of my secrets.  Still,” he added on further reflection, “I can understand that.  I wouldn’t trust myself further than I could spit a rat.”

Whatever Zaphod’s qualities of mind might include – dash, bravado, conceit – he was mechanically inept and could easily blow the ship up with an extravagant gesture.

… the main reason [Zaphod] had had such a wild and successful life was that he never really understood the significance of anything he did.

The wall.

Almost forty years later and Adams is writing social commentary!  It kind of blew my mind.  Plus, you know, Marvin.

“Life,” said Marvin, “don’t talk to me about life.”

“Here I am, brain the size of a planet and they ask me to take you down to the bridge.  Call that job satisfaction?”

“Pardon me for breathing, which I never do anyway so I don’t know why I bother to say it, oh God, I’m so depressed.”

I just… this book…  oh man, you guys.  It is my heart and soul, my comfort food, my other half. ❤

 

2 thoughts on “The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy

Leave a Reply

