Calamity

calamityAuthor: Brandon Sanderson
Series: Reckoners #3
Rating: 3 / 5 stars
Verdict: Borrow

There is a look about an Epic who is in the throes of their power.  The way they stand so tall, the way they smile with such confidence.  They stand out, like a burp during a prayer.

Calamity, that was the end of the series?  I have to admit, I thought it was going to be a little better.  The identity of Calamity is finally revealed, but it’s hardly exciting.  And the final showdown was kind of anti-climatic.  It definitely wasn’t as exciting as the cover looks.  It’s more like a snap of a fingers that a supernova exploding.

A lot of Calamity’s plot revolves around Prof.  We follow David and gang to another Epic run city in pursuit of the former Reckoners’ leader.  We have some more plotting and scheming against Epics, and David continues to show off his knowledge of all Epics, high and low.  We even still have some corny teenage romance like, ‘She kissed me.  Mmmmm.’  Yeah, that’s an actual quote unfortunately.  And terrible metaphors abound.

While there is a good dose of action to keep readers occupied, I think it could be better in order to attract a wider age range of audience.  This series feels tailor made for just the teenage reading audience, and I don’t think it ever truly tried to break out of that comfort zone.  So while it was a fun read, it definitely felt juvenile at times, which took away from my enjoyment.  The one exception, which I enjoyed far more than I probably should have, was Cody and his determination to be Scottish.  Things like:

“It was the king of Morocco.  Cupcakes are too dainty for a Scotsman.  Give him one, and he’ll ask why didn’t you shoot the wee cake’s parents instead and serve that.”

It’s really not all that funny, but I couldn’t stop laughing.

All and all, I think I was a bit disappointed with the Reckoners series.  I think it’s great enjoyment for teenagers, but it loses some of its charm for the new adult and older adult fans.  It’s still light, fun entertainment for older readers, but you can’t expect to take much away from it, and it’ll probably leave you wanting for more at the end.  But I’m excited to read some of Sanderson’s high fantasy now that I’ve finished this series.  I have high hopes.

Leave a Reply

