The Last Star

Author: Rick Yancey
Series: The 5th Wave #3
Rating: 3.5 / 5 stars
Verdict: Borrow

And so we’ve reached the end.  It’s been an interesting ride, my friends.  The ending felt true enough to the series, even if I still feel there is a fundamental flaw in the fact that it still makes no sense whatsoever on why the aliens decided they needed to waste their time killing off humans, and thus so many of themselves, in the first place.  If anyone has a theory or explanation or if it perhaps was explained in the book and I somehow completely overlooked it, please, please, please share it with me.  I still don’t get it.  I just don’t.

If there was only one thing I was allowed to say about this conclusion to the series, I would have to stay that it is pretty quickly paced.  Yancey tries to cram a lot of different plot lines and tie up a lot of continuing points from the previous novels in this final installment.  I’m still on the fence, however, as to if that’s necessarily a good thing or not.  For one, the writing is so fast paced in sections that I got a little lost in the plot.  There were a few sections where I’m not entirely positive I knew exactly what was going on.  I think the biggest culprit of this is Ringer’s plot.  Was she a double agent?  Did she want to kill Evan or did she want to kill Vosch?  Or both?  Reading this book felt like drinking a BIG glass of wine too quickly.  I liked it, but it left my brain fuzzy and I’m not entirely sure I remembered everything the next morning.

The fundamental problem with this novel is the narrative style.  In the previous installments in the series, the book was broken out into sections and each section was narrated by a specific character.  In The Last Star, this changes.  The sections are broken out by time frame, and the POV switches between characters in the chapters.  The narration jumps so many times from narrator to narrator so quickly that it was hard to remember who the heck was talking in the first person POV at any given time, especially when I would read only a chapter or two at a time when my schedule permitted.

Even with its style flaws and plot falls, The Last Star is still entertaining.  Cassie is a little less annoying in her weird relationship with Evan, but the “love triangle” with her and Evan and Ben is a little less predominant.  I like the evolution of her brother’s character, even if Ringer’s character wasn’t as interesting this time around.  I think was really salvaged this novel for me were the eloquent lines that Yancey just tosses out there haphazardly.  I’d be reading along and BAM!  I’d hit a profound sentence or two right in the middle of muddled internal dialogue.  The Last Star definitely has some beautiful prose in it, even if you have to muck through some other stuff to get to it.

While the conclusion to the series wasn’t entirely satisfying, I didn’t feel like tossing the book out the window and cursing all the time I spent reading the series either (I’m looking at you, Divergent series).  In the end, it’s probably not going to be a series I buy and read again, and the first movie was so terrible I doubt they make the other two, but it’s still a fun read for an alien invasion apocalypse.

Leave a Reply

