Rage Within

Author: Jeyn Roberts
Series: Dark Inside #2
Rating: 2 / 5 stars
Verdict: Bury

Eenie, meenie, miney, moe.  Catch some survivors by the toe.  If they holler, kill them on the spot.

It’s lines like this one trickled throughout the novel that make me visually cringe.  I just can’t seem to take the story seriously after I read something like this.  These comments, though not exactly common, crop up often enough to deflate any sense of suspense and horror I might draw from the story.

Some of the characters’ catch phrases cause an internal cringe as well.  Raj’s obsessive use of the term ‘babes’ and orange girl’s need to proclaim through the third person narrative ‘Stupid! Stupid! Stupid!’ just ruin this novel for me.  It actually got so bad that it made it difficult to read towards the end.

The plot itself showed promised.  Daniel’s keeping a secret (which wasn’t that hard to guess for me, but was apparently for the characters connected to him in the story) added a little bit of mystery.  The separation of the core of the characters built a little suspense as they worked to reunite.  I really wanted to see the siblings reunite, though the internal letters she composes in her head got a little old.  But overall, Rage Within just didn’t have the goods.  The writing drags the plot down, and the cliche teenage driven angst pulled it down when it was already floundering.  I think this novel would have been excellent if written as an adult series instead of a watered down young adult series.  I doubt I’ll read the final installment to the series, and yet that’s what I always say but find myself doing it just for closure.

Leave a Reply

