The Titan’s Curse

Author: Rick Riordan
Series: Percy Jackson & the Olympians #3
Rating: 3 / 5 stars
Verdict: Buy

This is definitely a series geared toward middle grade kids.  While it carries over a lot of the action and adventure for older readers, I think a lot of the humor gets lost in the pages for readers such as myself.  There are still a few funny parts, but by and large the plot it the biggest factor for me.  Still, I can definitely see the charm for younger readers and it’s probably a series I’ll read to my kid someday.

I think the biggest issue I struggle with is the dialogue and the language.  I understand that Riordan dumbs it down for 10 to 15-year-olds, but some of it is just cringe worthy at times.  And with everything being dumbed down, I think it pulls a lot of the emotional connection away from the story (for example, when a character dies or disappears, it’s hard for me to even care because I don’t feel the character’s own agony through the writing).

These novels certainly aren’t deep, but they are entertaining.  I don’t see the connection between Percy and Annabeth that is apparently supposed to be there (and Annabeth’s obsession with Luke is just plain weird), but I Grover is always charming.  Some of the newer characters I can stand to live without – the Hunters, for example – but the story has enough go to keep me entertained.  I just wish these parents would be a little less negligent!  Although, I guess if that were the case, they wouldn’t have demigod children to begin, sooo….

Leave a Reply

