Their Fractured Light

Author: Amie Kaufman & Meagan Spooner
Series: Starbound #3
Rating: 2 / 5 stars
Verdict: Bury

I really wanted to get into this story.  And not just this novel, but the series in its entirety, as none of the three in the trilogy ever really struck a cord with me.  Spacey sci-fi stories in the young adult genre are hard to come by and almost all in the form of space opera.  Good spacey sci-fi that doesn’t include time travel and aliens?  Practically non-existent.  So I try no to mind space opera, and for the most part I succeed so long as it isn’t just a soap opera set in space.

While Their Fractured Light isn’t quite a soap opera, the romance forced between the main characters – Sofia and Gideon – is tiresome and wears out its welcome early on.  Some of the dialogue and actions between them are so cliche and cringeworthy that at a few points I almost stopped reading.  The whole ‘pitted for the same cause, but wanting different outcomes and so they are working together but secretly enemies, so that’s supposed to add a lot of tension’ really doesn’t work in this case because I never grow to care about either character and their romance is just an annoyance to the story.

As for the plot itself, there are a few exciting portions of it, but most of it just revolves around the romance between the characters and the Whispers, which I never really got invested in at all over the length of the series.  The story feels long and drawn out, and the pace of this story is soooo slow.  There are a bunch of side characters that are introduced just to try to get the story moving in some direction, but none make much of an impression on me.  And as for the returning characters from the previous novels in the series, I hardly remember them at all (some I flat out don’t remember, plain and simple).  So in the end, this is a series I could have skipped entirely and not missed a thing about it.  Stupid pretty covers sucked me in each and every time.  Hopefully after this and Illuminae, I will learn my lesson with at least one of these authors.

Leave a Reply

