Jubilee Manor

Author: Bethany Hagen
Series: Landry Park #2
Rating: 3 / 5 stars
Verdict: Borrow

I do not remember much about Landry Park.  From what I could gather from my review on it, I wasn’t all that impressed, which seemed heavily influenced by the love triangle.  Fortunately, it seems like the love triangle was sorted out in the first novel, so it isn’t such a concern in Jubilee Manor, though it does rear its ugly head once or twice for a quick cameo.

I’m still not that impressed by the character development or the characters themselves.  Hagen tries to make Madeline this smart, independent girl who is trying to change the world for the better.  Unfortunately, Madeline is only written that way through the details given to us through the narrative.  Through her actions, I don’t really see it.  Now don’t get me wrong, she’s no Bella Swan (or whatever that chick from Twilight’s name is), and she does oppose her elders to try to do what she thinks it right, but I still don’t quite feel like she’s a fierce heroine.

And while the plot is interesting enough to keep me reading, the mystery of who is killing off the gentries doesn’t really captivate me as a reader.  I certainly found the conclusion with regard to that particular mystery lackluster.  It is one of those that kind of comes out of left field, and the author rushes to throw the whole explanation in at the end while the bad guy is looming over the good guy, instead of just killing them (which is what would actually happen in real life, which is why I hate the mystery “information dumps” at the end of a who-done-it).  So that is disappointing.  But the plot with the Rootless (silly name though) is interesting enough throughout the novel.  In a sense, it carries the story almost the entire time.

In all honesty, if this series had been more than two novels I wouldn’t have bothered.  But since the story wraps up in a nice duology, I went ahead and decided to give it a go.  I wouldn’t say I’m glad that I did, but I also wouldn’t say I’m disappointed I gave it a shot either.  The world is certainly interesting, even though I still don’t understand why they wouldn’t have a singular nuclear power plant instead of charges in each individual home that needs to be changed on a regular basis.

Leave a Reply

