Fairy Godmothers, Inc.

Author: Jenniffer Wardell
Rating: 2 / 5 stars
Verdict: Bury

This book is hard for me to review since it took me over two months to get through it.  Thus the most accurate thing I can say about it is that it is not a very engaging story.  The characters are likable enough, but they aren’t very developed.  Kate is a charming enough character, and she certainly has an interesting job, but her job and her dynamic with Jon are about the only things that drive Kate in this story.

Jon is another character.  I realize this story is supposed to be a happily ever after fairy tale – just look at the title – but I still wanted some development out of it.  Having Jon meet Kate and instantly fall in love doesn’t feel very realistic.  It’s fine for middle grade novels, maybe, but for YA?  I want development in plot and characters.

And while the premise for the story is majorly cute – a fairy godmother gets a fairy tale of her own, the writing is rather plan and simple.  The plot drags around a bit, with all the issues of Rellie and the assignment to give her her happily ever after.  And I never really get invested with any of the characters where I even care where the plot goes.  It’s a fun idea in principle, but the execution does didn’t do much for me.

Leave a Reply

