Princess of Thorns

Author: Stacey Jay
Rating: 3.5 / 5 stars
Verdict: Borrow

Princess of Thorns is the second fractured fairy tale like novel I have read from Stacey Jay.  And though the previous focused more on the romance over the plot, at the end of the day I find myself surprisingly favoring that novel over this one.

Now, don’t get me wrong.  Princess of Thorns is a well written, entertaining tale.  Aurora is a fiercely strong, independent young woman whose interest is more on protecting her kingdom and taking back the crown that is rightly hers than on finding herself a prince to marry.  Niklaas, on the other hand, has only one objective in mind – to marry Aurora and to break his curse before his eighteenth birthday.  The fact that Niklaas has no idea his traveling companion is actually the princess whose hand he seeks to wed instead of her brother she pretends to be allows for many awkward and sometimes rather funny situations along their journey.

While the characters are dynamic and well enough developed, I had difficulty at times during the book following the plot.  While the story is interesting enough, it isn’t thoroughly engaging, and thus it took me a while to get through.  The length of my read could contribute to some of the issues I have with understanding the plot.  So while I think it is definitely a novel worth a read, it is one I would back burner if more exciting novels come along before you get the chance to read it.

Leave a Reply

