The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender

Author: Leslye Walton
Rating: 4.5 / 5 stars
Verdict: Buy

I am new to the whole magic realism genre, apart from a book or two of required reading in high school that I was thus immediately determined to hate since I was forced to read it.  But damn, this book is good.

The writing is eloquent and downright beautiful.  The story, which spans four generations, is heart breaking while also reaffirming that fate can be reversed and changed for the better.  At the same time, it seems to tell us that all happiness comes at a cost, and that we can only truly understand love and happiness once we know what it feels like to suffer.

There are so many things I could say in praise of this novel, but I feel I’ve analyzed it enough in my book club this month.  So I will leave you simply with this: read it.  You won’t be disappointed.  It’s definitely one of the best and most unique novels I’m likely to read this year.

Leave a Reply

