The Little Android

Author: Marissa Meyer
Series: The Lunar Chronicles #0.6
Rating: 2 / 5 stars
Verdict: Bury

It wasn’t until just now as I opened the novellas’s page on Goodreads that I made the connection to The Little Mermaid.  If I hadn’t read the tagline of the synopsis that blatantly states that it is a retelling of The Little Mermaid, I doubt I would have ever guessed.

I am, and most likely forever will be, a fan of Marissa Meyer’s writing, but her short stories/novellas for this series so far just have not been my cup of tea.  Like Glitches, The Little Android is an okay story, but I don’t think it enhances the series in anyway.  In fact, apart from a short – but important – cameo from Cinder, it hardly feels like a Lunar Chronicles story at all.  All the familiar aspects of the series are there, sure, but it doesn’t add anything overall to the saga.

While I at least rather enjoyed the plot of Glitches, the plot for The Little Android felt weak.  The Little Android summed up in one quick sentence is about a robot who loves in love with a human, who is in love with a cyborg.  A rather unique love triangle, to be sure, but the aspect of the love triangle is perhaps the most interesting element of this story.  Perhaps it was hard to relate to an android who thinks it is feeling human emotions, especially when you are only connected to the characters for eight short chapters.

Regardless, I will be skipping this novella on my next series reread.

Leave a Reply

