Heat Wave

Author: Richard Castle
Series: Nikki Heat #1
Rating: 2.5 / 5 stars
Verdict: Bury

I’ll admit, I came late to the Castle party, as I just started watching the series about a month ago.  So it was purely coincidental and somewhat kizmet that I saw this book while pursuing the stacks at the library.  Naturally, I had to check it out, if for no other reason than the fact that Nathan Fillion’s portrait on the back cover made me laugh.

I wish I could have enjoyed this novel more, but it basically reads like an episode of the television show with the names changed.  Admittedly, you would expect some level of likeliness, as the characters are based off of the work Castle does with the NYPD.  I expected, however, the glossy language that Castle sometimes uses in the show while painting an absurd possibility for a case.  Instead, we get a run of the mill tie-in crime/mystery novel without much pomp or circumstance.

The diehards out there that can soak in everything Castle will probably enjoy this book.  Even I smiled to myself a few times as some of the classical Castle type quips in the prose.  But if you are expecting a crime novel with depth, this isn’t what you are looking for.  As a fan of the show and of crime stories, I think I will leave Richard Castle to the television show, and the ghost writer “Richard Castle” to the more hardcore fans of the series.  If I had been on the fence with my decision, the last paragraph of the novel would have sealed the deal.  It is so cheesy and seemingly against every tough as nails characteristic of the character Nikki Heat that I literally laughed aloud as I read it.

Leave a Reply

