Of Poseidon

Author: Anna Banks
Series: The Syrena Legacy #1
Rating: 3 / 5 stars
Verdict: Borrow

I’m not going to lie; Of Poseidon is not the type of novel I would typically read, and it is obvious from the get go that it is going to be very Twilightish with respect to writing style and romance heavy plot.  I will also admit, however, that I actually kind of liked it.  My main reason for starting this series was, let’s face it, it’s about mermaids.  Or Syrena as they are called in this novel.  Perhaps the young woman not knowing she’s a mermaid, but finding out from the handsome, ultra attractive, slightly older male character is not the way I would like to go about reading about a mermaid story, but you take what you can get.

For a story about mermaids, this novel spends an awful lot of time on land.  And the parts that are spent under water are not especially descriptive of the surroundings.  The writing is rather childish at times, and some of the moments that are clearly meant to be funny are definitely lost on me.  Emma tendency to use the phrase Ohmysweetgoodness also really started to irritate me towards the end of the story.

Of Poseidon is not a thought provoking or deep story by any means.  It has little substance and definitely focuses on the romance between Emma and Galen.  But for some reason, I still enjoyed it on the guilty pleasure level.  Rayna is quirky enough and just a tad under obnoxious to add a level of interest in the characters.  Toraf, while being a love sick puppy, is also charming in his own way.  Without these side characters, the novel would definitely struggle to have any substance at all, but the addition of them and thus their interactions with Emma and Galen offer enough reprieve from the romance to make Of Poseidon readable.

While this series is definitely geared towards readers who enjoy Twilight styled “literature”, it’s still stomachable if you like a story of creatures from under the sea.  The only other young adult series I have read about mermaids so far is Amanda Hocking’s Watersong series, and so far I definitely prefer this series to that one.


Leave a comment