Life As We Knew It

Author: Susan Beth Pfeffer
Series: The Last Survivors #1
Rating: 1.5 / 5 stars
Verdict: Bury

Ugh.  The funny thing about reading this novel is that I swear I have read it before, back in the day closer to its original release.  It obviously did not leave much of an impression on my then because I could not remember much except maybe that something happened where the moon ended up closer to the earth (jogged in my memory by the cover art).

I should have taken that as a hint to not attempt a second read through, but since I didn’t remember, I went for it again.  When I first read this novel, I was a teenager and probably a bit moody and yes – I will admit it – annoying at times.  Perhaps that is why I did not remember how obnoxious our narrator, Miranda is.  For a high schooler, she acts more like someone her younger brother Jonny’s age (which is ironic, as she points out at one point during the novel how mature he is being and how immature she is herself).

My biggest beef with this novel isn’t the fact that Miranda is whiny and spends her entire time writing into her journal/diary complaining about her situation, even though she is lucky to have a mother who cares so much for her children that she sacrifices her own needs to care for her children’s.  It isn’t the fact that the entire novel actually feels like it was, indeed, written by a preteenager, especially when Miranda and her mother or her old brother get into fights/arguments and the adults in the novel spit such childish remarks that I actually laugh aloud at the absurdity.  It isn’t event the fact that though my geology and physics is a bit rusty, but I’m pretty sure the “science” aspect of the events as they unfold are completely ludicrous (after all, if the moon is knocked out of orbit towards the planet, wouldn’t the moon’s gravitational pull on tides and volcanoes be the lest of the worries, as with the moon out of orbit and closer to the earth, the earth’s gravitational pull on the moon would keep bringing it closer and closer until they collided?).

No, my biggest beef with this novel is that it is BORING.  Literally nothing happens apart from the meteor crashing into the moon and the moon moving closer to the earth.  Granted, that seems like a huge event with major fallout (which does sort of happen) but Miranda’s narration is so focused on the stupid, trivial matters in her dull life that she mentions these events with but a passing glance, instead focusing on absolutely nothing at all except her constant whining.

This novel may have held my attention when I was a young preteen with a bit of angst, but come on.  Reading this novel now (which I could only stomach about 50% of before finally giving up) makes me want to roll my eyes and toss my Kindle aside.

Leave a Reply

