Cinder

Author: Marissa Meyer
Series: Lunar Chronicles #1
Rating: 4.5/5 stars rating
Verdict: Buy

I had forgotten how much I enjoyed this novel until I just finished reading it again.  Not quite a fractured fairy tale (which I am always a sucker for), Meyer twists elements of Cinderella into this otherwise unique novel of a cyborg mechanic.  Though her name is Cinder, and though she has a wicked stepmother and two stepsisters, I wouldn’t classify both of her stepsisters as wicked; in fact, Cinder is even fond of her younger stepsister.

There is, of course, the handsome prince, in this case Prince Kai.  And there is even a ball.

But this story goes much deeper than Cinderella.  Enter the evil queen of Luna, who uses her glamour to hide her hideous looks but not her hideous intents.  With a goal to rule not just Luna but the entirety of the Commonwealth as well, the queen sets her sights on the young Prince Kai as her ticket to power.  As if this issue isn’t a strain enough, let’s go ahead and factor in the plague as well, which has been impacting the Commonwealth for over a decade now.  And as if these two aren’t enough, we also add the mystery of Cinder’s past, which she doesn’t remember anything of prior to the hover accident that resulted in her being a cyborg and being taken into her stepmother’s home.

Cinder is instantly likable and I bonded with her quickly.  I even found myself sympathizing with the android Iko, who may be programmed to have emotions but certainly isn’t capable of feelings.

Unique and intriguing, Cinder sucks you in immediately from the start and holds your attention the entire way through.  This book is a classic read under the covers by flashlight into the wee hours of the morning novel.  Even the second time through (which, I will admit I sped read through certain parts) held my interest and sucked me in just as much as the first read through.  I read this book in less than 24 hours, and quickly grabbed Scarlet to read again, since I have Cress waiting on the bookshelf to read once I finish my refresher course through the first two.

Leave a Reply

