These Broken Stars

Author: Amie Kaufman & Meagan Spooner
Series: Starbound #1
Rating: 3 / 5 stars
Verdict: Borrow

I am always up for some good space opera reading, and I have heard a lot of good remarks regarding this book, so I thought I would give it a try when the waiting list disappeared at my local library.

While there are hints to sci-fi and space exploration near the surface, what this novel boils down to is yet another young adult romance novel about two people on different sides of the social spectrum that get forced together when they are seemingly the only two survivors dumped onto a foreign planet.  And while the exploration of the foreign planet could have been intriguing and suspenseful, the backstory and scenery of the planet, and even the mystery behind the shadows and voices that begin to appear hardly register while the focus remains on Lilac and Tarver.

And while sci-fi has to be one of my favorite genres when done right, at the end of this novel it felt more like a paranormal novel than sci-fi, as the revelations of what is happening on the mysterious planet seems more far fetched and fantastical than sci-fi futuristic.

While an enjoyable enough of a read, it wasn’t a page turner and I read it in conjunction with another book or two, so it never really deserved my full attention.  As for the fact that it is the first in what I believe I saw is a trilogy, I have a hard time seeing how they will expand upon the root of this novel based on the ending of it, and it hardly held my attention enough to want to continue on into the series.  So while it was a well enough written novel, it isn’t one to add to my collection, and doubtful it is a series I will continue onward with.

Leave a Reply

