Switched

Author: Amanda Hocking
Series: Trylle #1
Rating: 3.5 / 5 stars
Verdict: Buy

So after reading the hugely disappointing Watersong series by Hocking, I needed a reaffirmation that I actually did enjoy the Trylle trilogy and that I wasn’t remembering it wrong and completely disillusioned.  So I took a break from my never ending library stack of books and dove back into my own collection to read this one again.

I will admit, the beginning of this novel is very, very weak which does not set a great president for the rest of the series.  The narrator, Wendy (and while I LOVE Peter Pan, the name Wendy is a pretty awful/plain one), s not all together likable at first.  She meets this mysterious Finn and almost instantly falls not just for him for but for his entire story.  I may have been very naive growing up compared to my peers, but if some guys started staring at me through my bedroom window at night and tried to convince me I was not exactly human and just I should run away with him, my instinct would not be to run away with him.  Instead, I would either call the cops to get him locked up or murder stab him in fear of my own life.  But the beginning of this novel is so fast paced for lack of a better term, that Wendy soon finds herself abandoning her family and jetting off to unknown lands with this still very much stranger.

Once they reach the magical world of Fralalala (yes, I know this is not the actual name, but I can’t spell it off hand as it was never one of my vocab words growing up), the plot does get better however.  You can almost forget how stupid and naive our Wendy is, and at this point Hocking does actually start to become something of a storyteller.  Sure, some of the dialogue I still wince at, and warming up to Wendy takes a while, but it does at least surpass the garbage that was the Watersong series, so that is comforting.

While I never really bought the whole Finn and Wendy relationship, I do still remember enjoying the rest of this series and will chug through Torn and Ascend next as well.  A veil has been lifted from my eyes, and I realize now that Hocking will never be a great writer.  She will be sandwiched in there with the likes of Kiera Cass and company, but she is at least a step ahead of Stephanie Meyer.  Unless reading through Torn and Ascend again change my mind, the beginning of this novel and the entire Watersong series tell me that she just doesn’t have the grasp of likable, true to life characters, and her female characters are too obsessed/boy crazy over guys to ever be independent or strong, which is a huge deal breaker with me.  But I guess all female characters can’t be Katniss Everdeen.

Leave a Reply

