So Mote It Be

Author: Isobel Bird
Series: Circle of Three #1
Rating: 3 / 5 stars
Verdict: Borrow

I started watching The Secret Circle on Netflix and when I realized it was based on a book series, I could have sworn I had read it before initially before getting through the pilot.  Then I read deeper into the full plot of the series and realized it was different than the book series about witches I had read in early high school.  But then my curiosity was peaked, and I was determined to remember which series I had read.

After a lot of different search phrases in Google, I finally realized it was the Circle of Three series.  So proud of myself for finding the series and remembering the correct one, I decided I should read it again.  It took a little library hunting, but I finally got my hands on a copy of So Mote It Be.

Now I don’t remember how much I liked this series growing up, but – assuming I was pretty devoted as I remember I read a good way through the series if not in its entirety – I will start by saying the literature does not stand the test of time.  Reading this novel in my early twenties, the dialogue and much of the plot seemed cliched and weak.  The characters were rather one dimensional, except for the three high schoolers that end up forming the circle – they at least had two dimensions… kind of.

Still, it was an okay read while watching a movie in the background.  Nothing really original or anything that stood out, but okay for a first novel in a series.  The true test will be when I read the second novel, if I can manage to get my hands on it as well.  While I have no doubt it will be littered with the same teen “angst” and tendancy toward boy craziness, hopefully the Wicca aspect of the series will have a chance to develop more, as it is still more of an underlying theme in this first novel.

One thought on “So Mote It Be

  1. The Secret Circle TV series is not based on Circle of Three. It's based on The Secret Circle, a trilogy by LJ Smith (The Initiation, The Captive, The Power). There are 3 recent books that have been published as a sequel but they are not written by the original author and are not good at all.

    Like

Leave a Reply

