Resist

Author: Sarah Crossan
Series: Breathe #2
Rating: 3.5 / 5 stars
Verdict: Buy

With the current fads in young adult series, I just assumed this series would be a trilogy (at least).  But I just finished reading Resist, and I realized ‘Hmmmm, I’m pretty sure this is the end of the series’.  And lo and behold, I was right.  A duology it appears.

With only two book in the series, it would be hard for me to give reasons why not to read it, or even buy the two novels for that matter.  Neither are extremely lengthy or excessively wordy and why I was a little disappointed with the ending, I think it was because I was sad to see the characters go so soon and not because I felt cheated.  Granted, the climax of the novel is like an atomic bombing setting off with all the action and adventure going on, and then the conclusion is a full 360 of calm and collected action instead, which was a little hard to swallow after my pulse had been pounding for so long.

I think Crossan could have extended Resist to be a little longer and fleshed out the ending for a tighter, more fulfilling ending, but hey – that’s kind of life isn’t it?

The narrative in Resist got even more complicated than Crossan presented in Breathe.  Not only did we read through the POVs of Alina, Bea and Quinn, but Crossan introduced Ronan as a narrator as well.  I often found myself having to flip back a few pages to the start of the chapter to remind myself who was telling that particular part of the story.  But while the narration got a little convoluted through all the different POVs, the plot at least never felt that way.  I thought Crossan did an excellent job wrapping up where Breathe took off.  It didn’t live up to my expectations 100%, but then a book hardly ever does.  Perhaps after I buy both novels and read them again, directly back to back, I will grow to appreciate it more.

Overall, however, I stand by my original review of Breathe – the two novels in this series are a breath of fresh air compared to a lot of the crap writing floating around in the genre these days.  And while many of the stereotypical elements are there (the hinted at love-interest triangles, the teen romance, etc. etc.) they aren’t overbearing in the way Crossan weaves them into the story.

Leave a Reply

