Death Note, Volume 12

Author: Tsugumi Ohba
Series: Death Note #12
Rating: 3.5 / 5 stars
Verdict: Borrow

So, I am listening to 30STM’s Conquistador and Up in the Air while I am writing this review, and as some of the lyrics run through my ears, I have to smile at how fitting they are for the conclusion of this series.
I have to admit, for the past five volumes or so (basically – since L died, however long ago that was) I haven’t really been impressed with the series much.  It has been interesting enough to keep my attention, but it has taken me a lot longer to get through the second leg of this series than how quickly I devoured the early volumes.
The same did not hold true for the final volume.  I finished the eleventh volume just two hours ago, and I have already finished the final volume, deleted some software off my laptop, and written the review for the eleventh volume in that time.  Wow.
The ultimate battle of wits finally plays out and it is an ultimate game of chess indeed.  I have to admit, the final seven pages made no sense to me whatsoever.  I went ahead and threw “Death Note ending” into Google to try to get some perspective, but to no avail.  It led to a bunch of cry babies wailing over how much they hated the ending.  To be fair, I do not fall into this category.
This is a fight to the death
 
This lyric from Conquistador is what sticks out the most for me right now as I write this review and have 30STM playing in the background.  With all practicality, I knew either Light or Near was going to have to die.  It’s how the entire final volume was set up in that creepy old warehouse.  And I liked the way it played out, especially since it brought into play some of the other minor characters who have been kind of a laughing joke of the series.  With this being said, I was fully ready to give this final volume 4 or even 4.5 stars.
But then I got to the last seven pages and couldn’t do it because they didn’t tie in with everything else.  Plus, I read on Google that a year or more after this “final” volume of Death Note they released a follow up volume 13.  And, I am sorry, but I absolutely hate it when authors follow up “finished” series with more novels/volumes (cough, Cassandra Clare, cough).  I lost a lot of respect for the series upon reading that, and I have to admit it soiled this volume for me.  I certainly won’t be reading it.  Let the end be the end, writers.  Please, for the love of Kira God.
Leave a Reply

