The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe

Author: C.S. Lewis

Series: The Chronicles of Narnia #2
Rating: 2.5 / 5 Stars
Verdict: Borrow
I think I would have enjoyed this book more as a child, but I’m not 100% positive.  While the movie was ridiculously long and quite boring at some points, it did seem to have a lot more action and adventure in it than the novel did.  Perhaps it is because of C.S. Lewis’s narration style.  Perhaps it is because the book is meant to be easy to read and short for the younger target audience.  Either way, though, the plot seems to be all over the place (without much explanation for anything) and a lot of gaps exist where the fun and excitement could be.
Overall, it isn’t bad for a young reader’s novel.  It seems to have a lot less religious undertones than The Magician’s Nephew had, and it definitely is a better read than the first.  Once I get through the series this time, I doubt I will read it again.  The book seems to lose its magic with time.
The one thing about this book that I can never get over is the Turkish delight.  I went on vacation in Canada years ago and while in a candy store there I happened upon some Turkish delight.  Because I remembered Edmund’s obsession with the Turkish delight in this book, I decided I must have a taste of it, since he seems so enamored with it.  It was awful.  I have never truly forgiven Edmund lol.
Leave a Reply

