The Hunger Games

Author: Suzanne Collins

Series: The Hunger Games #1
Rating: 4.5/5 Stars
Verdict: Buy
I am a repeat offender with this book.  I believe it is the third time I’ve read it, although it might be the fourth (or fifth).  It is close to perfection for YA dystopian fiction, and it is a quick and easy read that will keep you up until all hours of the night to get through it in one sitting.  The first time I read the series, I finished the entire series in less than three days.
This reading is the first time I’ve read it that I didn’t finish it within a day or two, thanks to real life getting in the way.  I have to say, spanning the reading over a longer period actually helped me enjoy it more because I had time to debate the plot and scenes in my head in between reading times (and also compare it against the movie, I will admit).  The fact that I also have read the entire series a few times also helps me enjoy it, because I catch new connections and foreshadows each and every time I read it.
I am not usually a fan of YA romance, but Collins makes the love triangle in this series work.  I love Peeta, I do.  And my heart breaks for him every time I read this novel.  And I love Gale too, which is why I think I don’t mind the romance, especially since while it is a main theme to the story, it isn’t overpowering and isn’t the entire plot.
And then you have Katniss.  She is a badass, but also a little jaded.  Although, if I lived in her world, I would be to.  She’s had a rough life and the events in this book certainly aren’t making her life easier.  But she is strong and independent and doesn’t need a guy to save her like most of the female characters in YA novels these days that drive me crazy (yet, it isn’t too far over the top, because I still believe she could be a real person).  In fact, she is the savior, a la Peeta.  Their dynamic is so powerful and beautiful.  And yeah, sometimes she seems like a heartless biotch, and sure, sometimes he seems like a pansy, but whatever!  I love them all.
Even the side characters are lovable.  Haymitch and Cinna, just to name two.
This is one of the few books that I can read over and over again and still enjoy each and every single time.  I hate writing this review now because I seem like I am hoping on the bandwagon with all the crazed fans now, but if it looks that way then so be it.
Leave a Reply

